Coppa delle Alpi by 1000 Miglia 2019

4 – 7 December 2019

The new Coppa delle Alpi by 1000 Miglia, a regularity race officially included in the Italian Major Events Championship, has been the first winter event realized thanks to the know-how of 1000 Miglia srl.

For the 2019 edition, 47 cars between the 1st and the 6th grouping, that is until 1976, competed on a route along the breath-taking views of the Alpine arc, crossing Italy, Austria, Germany, Switzerland over four legs.

On the first day of the race, Wednesday 4 December, the cars started from Brescia going towards Lake Garda and, after the lunch break in Fai della Paganella, they crossed the Passo della Mendola going down towards the Adige Valley to reach Bolzano and end the leg in Bressanone.

Thursday 5 December, the second leg, from Bressanone the crews headed towards the Dolomites and, after Vipiteno, they entered Austrian territory through the Brenner Pass: from Innsbruck, they proceeded to the Tyrol, to Seefeld, for dinner and overnight stay.

On Friday 6 December, during the third leg, the cars crossed the territories of Austria, Germany, and Italy to end the day in St Moritz, Switzerland.

Saturday 7 December the fourth and final leg proceeded from Switzerland to Valtellina and Valle Camonica to end in Ponte di Legno: after a night climb from Passo del Tonale, the award ceremony took place at 2.753 metres, on the Presena Glacier, inside the Adamello Brenta Natural Park and on the slopes of Piandineve.

The winning crew has been the one of the driver from Campobello di Mazara (TP), Nino Margiotta, driving a 1947 Volvo PV 444, together with Guido Urbini from Modena. Nino Margiotta was given a hard time by the driver from San Nicolò, Piacenza, Gianmario Fontanella who drove a 1955 Porsche 356 A 1600 together with Anna Maria Covelli. Third place went to the expert couple from Bologna formed by Massimo Zanasi and Barbara Bertini in a 1958 Volvo Amazon P120.

The first overall ranking competitors and the winners of the three city leg trophies, Brixen, Seefeld and St. Moritz will receive the guarantee of acceptance to the 1000 Miglia 2020.

For more information visit